Location & things to do

Beach photo with surfboard

The beautiful expanse of sandy beach at Sennen Cove is within walking distance of Rosemary Cottage, via the cliff path or Sunny Corner Lane, or alternatively reached by car within a few minutes, with car parking in the Cove.
Gwenver beach is even closer, situated at the base of Escalls Cliff and accessed on foot from the cottage past fields full of crops, sheep, cows and chickens, to the cliff path or by steep descent via steps. Both beaches are great for surfing and safe for families with life guards patrolling in high season.

Sennen Village and the Cove offer a range of local shops and services, including convenience store with post office, pubs, cash machine, restaurant/café/ice creams, fish and chips, surf schools with wetsuit and equipment hire, galleries, and the Sennen RNLI lifeboat station.
Spectacular coastal scenery is all around you in this breath-taking and dramatic part of Cornwall which you can explore on foot, by car, bus, plane, boat or bike. Things to do nearby are wide and varied, whether you want to spend your days chilling at the beach, surfing, kayaking, playing golf, taking a day trip to the Scilly Isles, exploring local landmarks such as the spectacular Minack Theatre and Porthcurno beach, Lands End (only 2 miles away!), Mousehole harbour (perhaps come and visit to see the Christmas lights in December - short breaks available) Cape Cornwall or St Michaels Mount and other National Trust properties, or discover where scenes from Poldark were recently filmed, such as Porthgwarra and Botallack Mine, just minutes away.

You can ride ponies, hire bikes, take fishing trips, try out the many venues for fine dining and good pub grub, visit galleries, munch pasties, cream teas and ice creams and then walk it all off along the Cornish coastal path! Rosemary Cottage is simply the perfect base to explore this truly beautiful and astonishing part of Cornwall.


Location/Organisation Location Web-Address Telephone Number
       
Cornwall Tourist Board   www.visitcornwall.com 01872 322900
National Trust Cornwall www.nationaltrust.org.uk 01208 73320
English Heritage South West www.english-heritage.org.uk 0117 975 700
The Eden Project Nr St Austell www.edenproject.com 01726 811911
National Maritime Museum Falmouth www.nmmc.co.uk 01326 313388
St Michael's Mount Marazion www.stmichaelsmount.co.uk 01736 710507
Tate Gallery St Ives www.tate.org.uk/stives 01736 796226
Isles of Scilly Day Trips   www.Islesofscilly-travel.co.uk (0) 845 710 5555
Isles of Scilly Tourist Info Centre   www.scilly.gov.uk 01720 422536
Pendennis Castle Falmouth http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/server/show/nav.11487 01326 316594
Goonhilly Earth Station Nr Helston www.goonhilly.bt.com 0800 679 593
Flambards Theme Park Helson www.flambards.co.uk 0845 6018684
National Seal Sanctuary Gweek www.sealsanctuary.co.uk 01326 221874
Minack Theatre Porthcurno www.minack.com 01736 810181
Lands End   www.cornwall-online.co.uk 0870 458 0099
Trebah Garden Mawlan Smith www.trebahgarden.co.uk 01326 250448
Glendurgan Mawlan Smith www.nationaltrust.org.uk 01326 250906
Geevor Tin Mine Pendeen www.geevor.com 01736 788662
Poldark Mine Helston www.poldark-mine.co.uk 01326 573173
Little Bo Café Sennen Cove http://thelittlebocafe.weebly.com/ 01736 871900
Ben Tunnicliffe Sennen Cove http://benatsennen.com/ 01736 871191
190 Degrees West Fish and Chips Sennen http://190degreeswest.co.uk/ 01736 872723
Smart Surf Centre Sennen Cove http://www.sennensurfschool.com/ 01736 871817
Penlee Gallery Penzance http://www.penleehouse.org.uk/ 01736 363625
Telegraph Museum Porthcurno http://telegraphmuseum.org/ 01736 810966
Minack Theatre Porthcurno https://www.minack.com/ 01736 810181

 

Top of page image Top of page